• CSU
  • University of Melbourne


Technologies Program:

This program deals with risks and responsibilities relating to research into technologies that combine with or add to existing technologies, including ethical issues in bio/nanotechnology, computing and IT.

Health Program:

This program will conduct research in relation to a range of interconnected ethical issues in the public health domain.

Ecology Program:

This program examines a range of issues in environmental ethics, including ethical issues related to existing and potential anthropogenic climate change.

Economy Program:

This program focuses on a number of central ethical issues arising in the economic sphere, including corporate responsibility and economic corruption.

Security Program:

This program focuses on the ethical dimensions of a range of current domestic and international security problems, including ethical issues pertaining to terrorism, crime, and humanitarian intervention.


What's new in CAPPE publications?

View publications

CAPPE Events

Contact CAPPE for more information.


Professor Seumas Miller

Institutional Corruption and The Capital Markets  More

Fixing the Fix - Benchmark Reform and the Future of Financial Regulation  More

Designing-in-Ethics: A Compulsary Retirement Savings System  More

Dr Stephen Clarke

On Religious Violence, ABC Western Plains 'Mornings', radio interview  More

Past media events


 Director of CAPPE

Associate Director of CAPPE

Advisory Board


Graduate Research Students

Past Visitors

  • Professor Howard Adelman
  • Professor Richard Arneson
  • Professor Philip Brey
  • Professor Michael Boylan
  • Professor Michael Davis
  • Professor Richard Freadman
  • Professor Christel Fricke
  • Professor Marilyn Friedman
  • Professor Bernard Gert
  • Professor Donald Gotterbarn
  • Professor Deborah Johnson
  • Professor Frances Kamm
  • Professor Elizabeth Kiss
  • Professor Dongni Li
  • Professor Loren Lomasky
  • Professor Larry May
  • Professor Christopher Meyers
  • Professor Helen Nissenbaum
  • Professor Ross Poole
  • Professor Simon Rogerson
  • Professor Walter Sinnott-Armstrong
  • Assistant Professor Johnny Søraker
  • Professor Gu Su
  • Professor John Tasioulas
  • Professor Yamauchi Tomosaburo
  • Professor Jeroen van den Hoven
  • Professor Michael Wagner
  • Professor Michael Walzer
  • Professor Christopher Wellman
  • Professor Zhenming Zhai
  • Associate Professor Arthur Kuflik
  • Associate Professor Yu Mao
  • Associate Professor Xiaoming Zhang
  • Dr David Archard
  • Dr Richard Ashcroft
  • Dr Christian Barry
  • Dr Lynda Burns
  • Dr Tim Dare
  • Dr Kieran Donaghue
  • Dr Scott Wisor
  • Dr Meredith Gibbs
  • Dr Holly Lawford-Smith
  • Dr Geoffrey Brahm Levey
  • Dr Richard Lucas
  • Dr. Kate MacDonald
  • Dr Steve Matthews
  • Dr. Eri Park
  • Dr David Rodin
  • Dr Anne Schwenkenbecher
  • Dr Robert Sparrow
  • Dr Zhengxiang (Melanie) Wei